top of page

Divide


So, the best (and Ed Sheeran) way to start the year? Why not just release not one, but two, new, singles after a long break from music? That's my 2017 resolutions sorted. But seriously, did anyone expect it? I was shocked - and excited - when I saw his tweet on Twitter and being honest here, I fangirled so hard I almost died.

Don't worry, I'm fine now.

Okay, so that's what everyone thought, though. Oh, Ed Sheeran just released two new singles? My life is complete. But no! Ed had a plan and oh, what a great plan it was. Seriously, though. Have you even heard Divide? It's fabulous! And today, I'm going to give you Dreamers, my opinion on it. So let's go through every song and the cover art and all lose our minds together.

COVER ART:

I. LOVE. THE. COVER. ART. It's beautiful. All of it. The colours, the everything, I just can't even.

1. Eraser

I saw this comment on the video as well... Ed can "sing with flow"... See what I did there? No, never mind. This song is deep, okay? It had meaning. It's deeper than the ocean, gosh.

2. Castle On The Hill

One of the songs that Ed released before the album. It's beautiful and touching and I'm glad that LITERALLY EVER SONG ON HIS ALBUM IS ON THE CHARTS!

3. Dive

I liked this song.... A lot... Okay, more than a lot... Okay, even more than that. Maybe I should just end this here and shout from the rooftops: I LOVE EVER SONG IN DIVIDE!

4. Shape Of You

Of course. Another one of the songs that Ed released before the other songs. At first, I was like, oh. my gosh. Best single ever. And then I was like, oh. my gosh. Best song in an album ever.

5. Perfect

AWWW! I actually, legitamitely, literally, genuinely love. this. song. Okay? No judging. This is a judge free zone. This song was so cute and put a smile on my face. #RelationshipGoals. Is that what kids do these days? Just kidding.

6. Galway Girl

Maybe my favourite song in the album, if I could actually decide. Coincedence that I'm listening to it as I write this? I love it. "She played the fiddle in an Irish band...."

7. Happier

I kid you not, I cried during this song. When I listen to a song, I listen to the music and the lyrics. And both of them together in Happier? You know what that equals? BAM! A dead Harley... Black, not Quinn.

8. New Man

New Man? Catchy, cool beat, one you can dance to. That pretty much sums it up along with the words of: ANOTHER SONG THAT I'M OBSSESSED WITH.... HAHAHAHAHA.

9. Hearts Don't Break Around Here

Hearts Don't Break Around Here? One of the cutest songs ever, in my opinion. Others were probably finding out the deeper meaning behind it while I was listening to the lyrics and understanding the literal meaning to them.

10. What Do I Know

Strangely enough, despite some of the other songs being more my type or more catchier than other, What Do I Know was the one that stuck in my head. I was humming it all day long.

11. How Would You Feel (Paean)

I have to be honest here. All the songs in "Divide" were amazing, so sorry for repeating myself sixteen times... Well, not yet anyway. How Would You Feel managed to be another one of these. God bless Ed Sheeran.

12. Supermarket Flowers

So, um, before we start judging each other for being emotional and sensitive, let me just tell you, this song killed me. I'm not even kidding. It made me want to reflect... And that's always been boring for me.

13. Barcelona

Another one of those extremely catchy songs. Barcelona's beat was one that you just couldn't help but dance to. So congratulations to Ed for making one of those songs... Or, another one of those songs, I should say.

14. Bibia Ye Ye

Bibia Ye Ye was amazing. I loved it. All of it. Every bit of it. Just. Amazing. It's a song for every occasion and I love the message of it and that Ed included other languages. Like, well done.

15. Nancy Mulligan

Nancy Mulligan was the second "full-on" Irish song. I loved both Irish songs, personally. The music was so catchy and they were the first few songs that I managed to memorise completely.

16. Save Myself

So, Save Myself was quite literally the saddest song ever. It was heart-breaking and tore me apart. But overall, I loved it. The sound of it was amazing.

bottom of page